MYSTERY IN THE MIDLANDS


A Virtual Event Featuring 10 Fabulous Authors


Question: Where do you have the opportunity to spend 4 and ½ hours with award- winning mystery and suspense novelists all for the cost of a single e-book or paperback?

Answer: Mystery in the Midlands (hosted by Palmetto Chapter of Sisters in Crime and Southeastern Chapter of Mystery Writers of America), which began as a mid-summer conference in “Famously Hot” Columbia, S.C. For the third year, this is a virtual event through Crowdcast.


Date: Saturday, July 16, 2022

Cost: $8 (to defray event costs)

Link to register: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/mystery-in-the-midlands-3/register

If you are not able to attend virtually on the day of the event, by registering, you can access the recorded panels at your leisure.

Here’s the schedule:


Raise the Temperature with a Warm Welcome

10:30-10:45 am ET/9:30-9:45 am CT/8:30-8:45 am MT/7:30-7:45 am PT

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC


Shorts that Pack Heat

11:00-11:45 am ET/10:00-10:45 am CT/9:00-9:45 am MT/8:00-8:45 am PT

Alan Orloff, Shawn Reilly Simmons, and Joseph S. Walker


Sizzling Keynote


12:00-12:45 pm ET/11:00-11:45 am CT/10:00-10:45 am MT/9:00-9:45 am PT

David Heska Wanbli Weiden interviewed by Hank Phillippi Ryan


Served Piping Hot: Cozies with Recipes


1:00-1:45 pm ET/12:00-12:45 pm CT/11:00-11:45 am MT/10:00-10:45 am PT

Daryl Wood Gerber, Raquel V. Reyes, and Abby L. Vandiver


Sweltering Settings and Suspense


2:00-2:45 pm ET/1:00-1:45 pm CT/12:00-12:45 pm MT/11:00-11:45 am PT

Hallie Ephron, John Hart, and Hank Phillippi Ryan


Final Comments Before Cooling Off in the Pool

3:00-3:15 pm ET/2:00-2:15 pm CT/1:00-1:15 pm MT/12:00-12:15 pm PT

Dana Kaye, Lynn C. Willis President of SEMWA, and Carla Damron President of Palmetto Chapter SinC


What better way to beat the June heat than to spend the time in a lovely air-conditioned room listening to great authors talk about writing? Bring your beverage of choice and join us!

Find Us

Email us at capitolcrimes@gmail.com



Mission Statement

We are the Sacramento, California chapter of Sisters in Crime. We promote the ongoing advancement, recognition and professional development of women crime writers.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software